Laughter is…………..

I am pretty certain that most of us would agree that a sense of humor is indeed a valuable trait to have. I’d like to think that I have one. I know a few who don’t have a trace of one. Sometimes I would get a little upset with my husband because he thought EVERYTHING was funny. Even the Bible says, “…..there is a time to laugh..” Have you ever heard a joke and absolutely have to pick yourself up off of the floor from laughing so hard, and then turn around and tell it to someone else and they stand there with a look of bewilderment on their face? You aren’t for sure why they aren’t getting it and finding it as funny as you do. Let me give you an example here. A friend of mine recently sent me an e-mail of blooper newspaper headlines. Someone didn’t think it through before it was printed. They were all very cute but there was one specifically that cracked me up. ( Maybe it was just the good day I was having,) read “ CHILDREN MAKE NUTRITIONAL SNACKS”. The author wrote underneath the headlines, “ Do they taste like chicken or do you dip them in ketchup?” I could not stop laughing. I forwarded the e-mail to a few close friends and only two shared my glee for that particular one, yet found some of the others funny. To each his own I suppose. Maybe laughter, like beauty, is in the eye of the beholder.
When my son was about 6 years old we had just moved into a new community and it was our first Sunday at a new church. This was a Methodist church and a part of the mornings regular routine before the sermon began was a time called “ Praises and Concerns “ If you had a prayer request you could raise your hand and share it with the congregation as a concern. If something wonderful had happened in your life in the previous week you were also encouraged to share that Praise with the congregation as well. My family were all sitting together in a pew near the back, my daughter and step-daughter to my right, and my son on my left and his father beside him. I was enjoying listening to this close congregation sharing , finding it very up-lifting and inspirational, when the minister looked back our way and said, “ Yes, the little blonde-haired boy sitting near the back. What is your praise or concern this morning?” I looked to my left and my son’s hand was straight up in the air begging for attention.. My heart fell beneath the pew and I wished I could have followed it. He scooted out to the edge of the pew, stood up and with a proud look on his little face proclaimed,” We caught a mouse at our house last night.” I wanted to die. I wanted Jesus to come and get me right then and there and take me out of that church, not caring on how He planned on doing it. The congregation roared, and the minister spoke without missing a beat. “ Well, son, this is a definite praise, I will agree. Especially for your Mother.” I looked over at my husband who was enjoying the moment with everyone else, while I was planning an escape route for when the service was over. Well, regardless of my humiliation, it definitely was an ice-breaker for our first Sunday at a new church.
Below is a recipe I cannot call my own. It did not come from anyone in my family, rather was found in The United Methodist Church cookbook. There are two things that I am very sure of. Church women  are some of the very best cooks around and this congregation certainly knew how to laugh!
 
Mud Hen Bars
 
½ c. shortening
1 cup sugar
1 whole egg
2 eggs, separated
1 ½ cups flour
1 cup brown sugar, packed
1 teas. Baking powder
¼ teas. Salt
1 cup walnuts, chopped
½ c. semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 c. miniature marshmallows
Cream shortening and white sugar, beat in whole egg and 2 egg yolks. Add flour, baking powder, salt. Spread in 9×13” pan. Sprinkle nuts, chocolate chips, and marshmallows. Beat the 2 egg whites and fold in brown sugar. Spread over the bars. Bake 350* – 35 minutes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Laughter is…………..

  1. Marte says:

    My dad always said, “You have to have some fun everyday” and laughter was always a big part of my childhood in a happy family. Thanks for the reminder to laugh; sad that I needed one.

Leave a Reply

